Nissan Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,

I drire a 1999 Pathfinder, a friend told me to change it to winter tires (winter is coming soon down here...).

I'm not a car expert to say the least.....

All the shops i visited offered me a 15 inch winter rim, but right now the car has 16 inch (quite the efforts to learn all of this info...).

Does this matter or can i have these rims fitted on to my car?

Thank you very much,
Jane.

·
Registered
19 Posts
I would suggest just staying with the rim size you have. That way you know it will fit.

I recall some discussion on another Pathfinder forum on just this issue. There was a question of the 15" wheels (which were the size on Pathfinders before 1999) would fit over the bigger brakes found on 99-04 versions. There was no clear answer, it really depended on the wheel.

So I would either get a set of 16" wheels for the Pathfinder and mount the snow tires on them or just mount the snow tires on your current wheels (sometimes called rims).

For both our Sienna and Pathfinder we do the first option as our tire shop offers free rotations as part of the price, so we save about $80 CDN twice per year. That savings pays for the new wheels in about 3 years.

If you still want to go the 15" wheel route, get the tire shop to fit the wheel over the front and back brakes to make sure they will not rub. Note too that by changing the size of your tire you will change how your odometer/speedometer reads.

Hope this helps.

·
Registered
165 Posts
if you change the tire size. you can inch up or down , all you have to do is change the tire aspect ratio. For instance, a 31x10.5x15 tire is the same overall diameter as a 265/70/r16. no odometer change. also, the change on a 1" overall diameter to your speedometer is less than 1% at 110km/hour.