Nissan Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
freakish poster
1,236 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Nissan recommends against it, something to do with the pintel (?) injectors we have. What's the L/D here guys? I find it hard to believe that injector cleaner will damage anything but then again I'm not an engineer.

·
Registered
638 Posts
That's because most cleaners contain alcohol which tends to form rust and corrode the injectors if used often. STP products contain no alcohol and are safe to use. I've been adding a bottle of STP complete fuel system cleaner twice a year on my car for the past 5-6 years now with no problems. Works great and helps my car run alot smoother... :)

·
No Nissan Yet
139 Posts
sentrapower93 said:
That's because most cleaners contain alcohol which tends to form rust and corrode the injectors if used often. STP products contain no alcohol and are safe to use. I've been adding a bottle of STP complete fuel system cleaner twice a year on my car for the past 5-6 years now with no problems. Works great and helps my car run alot smoother... :)
alcohol isnt bad unless it is methanol. isopropyl wont hurt your system. isopropyl is just rubbing alcohol. this is what is in FI cleaners:Aliphatic hydrocarbon,TRIMETHYLBENZENE-1,2,4,XYLENE,CUMENE,KEROSENE, etc. if your thinking of "alcohol" is the reason, think again. this is what is in our pump gas:ingredients

its not rust it forms. actually the chemicals in some FI cleaners destroy the pintle valve of the injector and the internal housing of the injector itself. Those are not good for the fuel system.

So Centurion, what should you look for? basically it is very hard to know what you are looking for unless you are a chemist. as a consumer, this is what you could look for, Methanol and Kerosene that i know of.

·
freakish poster
1,236 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
SRV1 said:

So Centurion, what should you look for?