Nissan Forum banner

1 - 13 of 13 Posts

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Well its time for a new water pump in my 86 300zx, Im going to replace my timing belt as well.. To you have any pointers....I have never done this before but I do have some experance with cars...Any help would be great.

·
ZPOOLNZ
1,609 Posts
No real pointers it can be a pain at times. You might have some trouble getting the sproket off the crank. Mine was seized and I had to tap it to get a puller on it to pull it off. If it comes to that be careful the neck of the crank is weak right there and you can possibly damage or break it.

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
JAMESZ said:
No real pointers it can be a pain at times. You might have some trouble getting the sproket off the crank. Mine was seized and I had to tap it to get a puller on it to pull it off. If it comes to that be careful the neck of the crank is weak right there and you can possibly damage or break it.
Why would I have to take the crank sproket off??? Im not going to replace any seals, the engine only has 50k on it the only reason im replacing the timing belt, because the water pump is leaking and I thought I should replace the belt at the same time....

·
ZPOOLNZ
1,609 Posts
Then you won't have to take it off. There really isn't anything hard about it, except for some space issues.

·
Registered
95 Posts
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
JAMESZ said:
Then you won't have to take it off. There really isn't anything hard about it, except for some space issues.
Thanks...Do you think I could do the whole job in a weekend...

·
Registered
45 Posts
♣300zx♣ said:
Thanks...Do you think I could do the whole job in a weekend...