Nissan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 35 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have a 93' Sentra w/GA16DE. I loaned to a young man for a couple of days. when he showed up in another car to explain that it died and would not start. Towed back to my garage. I got the haynes book out and I have a subscription to ALLDATa.com for the car. The young man burned the starter so that was the first step. Crank-NO STart! So I used normal trouble shooting methods. Fuel Pump Working. I can hear it. Got the volt/ohm meter out and checked the specs on the coil, and they were right on. opened distributor cap, OMG center element fried and gone plus all four points burned. So I replaced with new cap and rotor. Checked for proper TDC matching contact for piston one. Right on. Crank pulley 2nd notch at pointer and rotor right on #1. When I crank it over it seems to try to stumble but won't start. I am getting spark at all four Cylinders. I thought maybe the The Crank Angle Sensor was bad, so once again the volt/Ohm Meter, and it checks out fine. One last thing. I noticed today after cranking over and over for about 4-5 minuted the the manifold coming from #1 and #2 Cylinders was slightly Warm, while the Right for #3 and #4 was cold. I am going crazy with this thing. If anyone could help I would be eternally indebted too U.

Thanks

·
Destroyer of worlds.
874 Posts
had a similar occurance with my girlfriends car(there's a thread about in the ga16 section). anyway, i fixed the lack of spark problem but the engine still didn't work. so i took it to a mechanic.

he said that if a car is cranked a lot with no spark(but with fuel) the unburned fuel tends to wash the cylinders clean of oil. this eliminates the oil seal around the cylinders and thus elimnated compression.(no compression=no ignition).

the fix was to squirt some motor oil in through the spark plug holes. worked right away on her car, maybe yours has the same issue.

·
Registered
1,124 Posts