Nissan Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I'm dreading the worst guys...whilst pulling away from a junction on a hill tonight, i noticed a screaming noise from my May 2005 2.2dci (69k miles). I drove the car the few remaining miles home and noticed the noise really only was audable when accelerating.

When i got home, i lifted the bonnet and noticed some oil around the front edge of the intercooler and on the hoses below, not mush, an odd drop. I started the car and reverred the engine which revealed a feint whining noise with the same sort of lag as you'd expect from the turbo.

Having read a couple of threads on the forum, i fear the worst and now suspect the turbo and/or intercooler may be goosed!

I'm going to see if my local garage (not Nissan dealer but fairly good i think) will diagose the problem tomorrow and see about a dealer repair later.

I've always thought i was a turbo considerate driver but after reading some of the threads in here, i almost think i've been lucky to have the turbo last this long...still i guess there are 1000's of x-trailers out there that have not had any problems!

Any thoughts/advise guys? Is the car safe to drive short distances?

Cheers,

Fatman

·
Registered
27 Posts
You will probably want to take it to your garage as soon as possible. Your suppose to maintain a deisel turbo every 5000km's. So I'm guessing if oil is in your intercooler your turbo has split a gasket which will most likely be on the inlet side. Your mechanic will be able to tell you in minutes if your turbo is naffed by taking the inlet to the turbo off and finding out wether the turbine has any play, if it does it's naffed (or will be soon)...
Your intercooler will be fine once the turbo is fixed. You may experience a little smoke out the exhaust, which you may have noticed already?