Nissan Forum banner
1 - 13 of 13 Posts

· Nis-ho
635 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i may get flamed for asking this, but i did search

well it looks like i'll be going turbo for my GA16DE. i kno mike and others turboed their GA's but, isn't the 10.6 compression on the motor kinda high. i mean i kno they've had lots of success, but it just scares me to run boost on that kind of compression.

· Nis-ho
635 Posts
Discussion Starter · #7 ·
so how long do you guys think a GA would last under boost? i'll be honset, i do very cautiously, and usually don't exceed 3k rpm, or go over 70-75 mph. i put anywhere btw 350-400 miles a week, and i only fill up once a week. so i am a conservative driver, but, i do have my share of hooliganisms :fluffy:

· Registered
2,490 Posts
The higher the compression ratio, the lower the boost you can safely run without detonation. If you stay conservative, a boosted engine is very reliable. I would say a good starting point would be around 6psi provided you get a properly sized turbo, a good engine management system, a properly sized front intercooler, upgrade the injectors and fuel pump, and set the timing properly. It should be good for about an additional 50WHP.

Lew

· Have I Hit 12's Yet?
6,879 Posts
i daily drive mine on 11 psi and havent had a problem yet with the motor

· i pwn your mom
8,508 Posts
many of the turboed Ga's haven't had problems, when you do stuff properly then you shouldnt' run into issues, read the sticky above on turboeing the car and look on nissanperformancemag.com, that will help you too...

· Nis-ho
635 Posts
Discussion Starter · #11 · (Edited)
trust me man, i read practically all the posts, and all the npm articles, i'm sorry, i cant help but be paranoid

i can only hope that i dont sound like a :dumbass:

my sincerest apologies

btw ishadoff, the thought of 50whp makes me drool gggghhhhhaaaaaa!!!!! mmmmmm....turbolicious

· Registered
286 Posts
lshadoff said: