Nissan Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi all,

My truck didn't start last night, and it's my daily driver so I was hoping you might be able to help me diagnose and fix it.
I'm not a mechanic at all, just do basics like change my alternator and other bolt-on stuff.

It's a 96 hardbody, with the 4-cylinder engine.

When I go to start, it makes the "na-na-na-na-na" noise and sounds fine, but it just doesn't "catch".

What precipitated the not-starting was that it died during idle and I couldn't get it re-started.

It was running _really_ rough, chugging along in neutral. When I gave it some gas, the roughness evened out a bit and it ran better. But when I got out of the car and left it on and in neutral, it was rough again and died.

The running rough has happened a couple times in the past few weeks. I thought it was related to the temperature changes now that spring is almost here in Wyoming.

It seemed to happen after the truck sat for a couple days.

As I'd start it, it would run rough, I'd give it gas, and it'd be very rough, chugging and stuttering almost like it was getting irregular amounts of gas.
This would continue as I'd get up to speed, continue into 2nd gear, and eventually as I drove along and it would even out it ran fine. Then it would run fine and start fine for days.
Then a week or so later it'd do the chugging thing.

So last night it finally won't start at all.

Here's some things we did for diagnosis last night:

- pulled the air filter housing off the throttle body off and made sure nothing was clogging it
- pulled the fuel line off the fuel rail, turned the key and got fuel squirting out. We felt this showed the pump and filter were ok.
- pulled a spark plug out, put it back in the wire and arc'ed it with the key turning. We felt this showed the battery, coil, dist, etc were ok.

So we've checked air, fuel, and spark, and still no go. :(