Nissan Forum banner

Trans and wiring issues, 88 e16i to any later engine

1K views 6 replies 3 participants last post by  Daeron 
#1 · (Edited)
Okay, I have a line on an 88 sentra for free.. it dropped a timing chain and needs a new motor. Its the TBI version with a four speed manual.

I glanced around, but my eyes are drooping.. I need to find a junkyard motor for this car. I come from an old Datsun family; in my lifetime alone we have owned:

-two hardbodies
-one pathfinder
-one B12 sentra (oldest bro's ex wifes first car, loong time ago)
-one 92 maxima
-two Z31 NA's
-two 280ZX NA's
-one 280ZXT
-two 280Zs
-one 260Z
-way too many 240Zs to count
-same with 1600 and 2000 roadsters, including one of Pete Brock's two racecars
-one b210

..and i think thats it. That is between myself, four brothers, my old man and our uncle (plus the one brother's wife.)

So I am no novice, but I must confess I've never done an engine swap. However, 70 horsepower?????? whoa.. I have gathered that an e15et can swap in, but those aren't exactly common. It *seems* like I ought to be able to swap in a GA series but I haven't found definitive answers on cross members, trans bolt patterns, and NOTHING about the wiring and fuel intake; I presume I would need a full MPFI manifold and ECU for anything, but what can I work with using the original harness? I can supplement the stocker if needs be, but really simplicity is hallmark for me to get this car and get it rolling. I would love nothing more than to find a nice B13 that had gotten rear ended.

And honestly (I know, this is SIN from a true nissan guy, but...) I wanna avoid the SR20. I kinda like fifth gear. It is one thing to drive a trans that never HAD it... but... nah.