Nissan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
i'm kind of new to all this stuff, but from what i read here, the first mod you should do is advance the timing. from reading all these posts, i'm pretty confident i can do this myself in my driveway, but i dont yet have a timing light. i'll probably pick one up this weekend, but have no idea what i need to look for. i'm sure this is a stupid question.... but are they basicly all the same? can i just pick up a $30 light and i'm good to go?

thanks everone for your help in advance... and any tips on advancing the timing would be appreciated.

Scott

·
Registered
145 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
99.se.ltd said:
please run a tank or 2 of premium BEFORE you advance the timing.
figured i would need to do that, so i've been using 92 octane for the last four fill-ups. also waited till the gas light came on before filling up. thanks though

N

·
0 Posts
yeah, that is good advice to run premium octane fuel before doing the timing advance.....you can get a timing light for about 30-40 at any autoparts store, read the instructions at sentra.net and youre ready to go. youll feel the difference:D

N

·
0 Posts
lol, yeah that sux, but craftsman is a good brand and it'll probably last a lot longer than some of these other brands. how much did u get it for?:D

N

·
0 Posts
first off, its a well known fact that all crafstman products carry a lifetime warranty....

·
Registered
45 Posts
probably a stupid question, but would it be cheaper to go to a shop and have them do it rather than spend the money on a timing light?

anyone know what a garage would charge? probably a lot just for wasting their time but i thought id ask anyway

·
Registered
553 Posts
I would think it would be cheaper to do it yourself. Another thing is, you wouldn't be able to tell if they actually advanced it. I'd be too afraid they would sit on their @$$ for half an hour and charge you for it.

N

·
0 Posts