Nissan Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
ok, so... I really hope you guys can help me! (no doubts, but I am new to this post, and new to owning a nissan)
I´m down in Chile for a few months, and got a 1989 nissan sunny 1.6 5 spd. from some guy who can´t get it to run. He said it just died going down the road, no noises or anything like that. The starter turns, I took it out and tested it. I tested it because it sounds like the motor is not turning over when I turn the key. had my girlfriend turn the key while I checked the crank pulley, and it is turning with the starter. I now proceed to remove the upper timing cover to look at the belt. It appears in place, but I noticed a few worn teeth on the belt. Now, when the crank pulley is turning, the cam pulley should also be turning correct¿ That's what I figure...but it´s not.
I am now about to remove the lower timing cover, which I presume to be a hassle(I don´t have a gear puller to remove the crank pulley). The timing belt should also go around the crankshaft, right¿ Please help, my prev. experience is working on rear-wheel-drive German cars...
****** in Chile...

·
GA16DE
606 Posts
Hi
Must be an e16 engine (timing belt)
The crankshaft pulley doesn't need a pulley extractor to be removed
Hope the engine was not damaged (valves, guides, usw) in the event the timing belt failed...

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
timing

thanks velardejose, I got the pulley off; but still, I had no tools for retaining the pulley while loosening the bolt! a little pisco helped, though...
ok, so the idler pulley above the crankshaft gear- is that the tensioner¿ I´m having a hard time getting tension released from the belt. I'm used to timing chains with simple tensioners...
The belt indeed is comletely stripped at the crankshaft gear
****** in Chile

·
GA16DE
606 Posts
Yep, thats the belt tensioner...
A shot of pisco helps sometimes... ;)