Nissan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have a '93 Z32 that I'm changing the timing belt on. I am new with Z's so I've been following a walk trough from twinturbo.net, which says that when you take the belt off, the cams will move. I've got everything off and I am down to the timing belt. When I take the timing belt off, if any of the cams move, I'm afraid that I won't be able to put them back correctly.

What's the best way to make sure that none of the cams move when I take the timing belt off?

·
Registered
42 Posts
I would think just make sure that you have the engine at top dead center. That way if a cam moves you can just realign it with the marks that show tdc.

·
Registered
71 Posts
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
Can they be easily moved? Are the springs not so tight as to make this very difficult? Sorry If I'm making this harder than it really is, I just want to make sure I know exactly how this is going to work before I take the belt off.

·
Registered
42 Posts
If you try to move the cam via the cam gear it will take some muscle. The cams themselves have a place to turn it with a wrench (around 23mm). If you go that way turning the cam gears are easy, but at a cost of about 2 or 3 hours to get to the cams and to put valve covers and intake manifold back on after you are done.

·
Registered
42 Posts