Nissan Forum banner

1 - 9 of 9 Posts

·
Registered
546 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I have searched and searched but I haven't found any detailed guides on how to do this... I don't want to run premium gas, I just want to makes sure my engine is at the maximum degree setting for the time being on 87 octane fuel (I will be using premium here after a while). The maximum setting is 10 degrees on 87 octane right? I read someplace it was 12... I have no experience in this but I hear it's really easy, although no-one mentions how to do it. What all will I need? How is it done? I have a 94 Sentra LE (B13) if that helps any.

·
absolutely classic
455 Posts
You didn't search very hard for the info... Found this in 3 seconds.

Lew said:
Notes:
- Sometimes the engine will not idle in timing mode. If this happens, start the engine and hold the accelerator to keep the engine running at idle speed while adjusting the idle speed screw.
- Advancing the timing makes the engine run faster, so the idle must be adjusted after changing the timing.

Here is the procedure from the B14 Factory Service Manual

Timing
1. Warm up the engine until the temperature gauge points to the middle
2. open the hood and run the engine at about 2000rpm for about 2 minutes under no-load.
3. Rev engine two or three times under no-load and then run at idle speed for about 1 minute.
4. Turn off the engine and disconnect the throttle position sensor harness connector.
5. Start engine.
6. Rev engine (2000-3000 rpm) 2 or 3 times under no-load, then run engine at idle speed.
7. Check ignition timing with a timing light.
7a. Adjust ignition timing to the desired value by turning the distributor after loosening bolts which secure the distributor.

Idle
1. Rev engine (2000-3000 rpm) 2 or 3 times under no-load, then run engine at idle speed.
2. Adjust idle speed by turning idle speed adjusting screw.
M/T 625 +/- 50 rpm
A/T 725 +/- 50 rpm (in "N" position)