Nissan Forum banner
1 - 14 of 14 Posts

· Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
ok so i have replaced my throwout bearing for the second time and it has gone bad again i have an '89 240 with the redtop sr and a excedy stage2 3puck clutch. when i installed it i was sure to grease it up with high temp grease and i have been driving it around for about 2 months now and just yesterday it went bad on me again so what is going wrong? when i drive i'm sure to put it in neutral at stop lights and let off the clutch so there isn't pressure on the throw out bearing and i make sure i don't ride the clutch when i take off and shift i don't know what is going wrong.:lame:

· Registered
58 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
i used oem. the first one was the one that came with the clutch and it failed in about 2 weeks and then the second one was oem and it lasted 2 months and i greased the hell out of both of them with high temp. should i look at getting an aftermarket?

· Admin and Sup Mod keeping the peace
8,653 Posts
Check your clutch pedal free play. Make sure there's enough. It should be 9 - 16 mm (0.35 - 0.63 in). Hold a ruler against the floor and up to the top of the pedal pad. Take a reading on the ruler at the pedal pad in the resting position. Now push on the pedal pad very gently until resistance is felt; at this point take the new reading on the ruler. Subtracting the two readings will give you the free play spec.

To adjust the clutch pedal free play, adjust the pushrod for the clutch master cylinder which is located under the dash at the top of the pedal assembly. The pushrod has a locknut which must be loosened. Now the pushrod can be adjusted.

If there's no freeplay, then the throwout bearing will spin all the time, thus wearing it out prematurely.

· Admin and Sup Mod keeping the peace
8,653 Posts