Nissan Forum banner

1 - 15 of 15 Posts

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I keep seeing short shifters on ebay and was wondering what peoples thoughts are on these. Is it worth it? Is it so generic that I dont have to worry about it, or should I look elsewhere?

·
Destroyer of worlds.
874 Posts
i wouldn't bother with a short throw at all, you dont need it. IMO the limiting factor for shifting is the clutch foot, not the shift arm. so, i think if you just spent the time to practice quick shifting you could save yourself some money and time.

·
Registered
851 Posts
i would love a short shifter. my shifter is like 5 feet tall, ive tried it with the boot all the way down, and just that is a great improvement :eek: it turns shifts into just a flick of the wrist as opposed to a whole upper body work out :D

·
Destroyer of worlds.
874 Posts
well i used to be a drummer in a ska band...so fast arm motions are no problem for me...i never considered other's would find them difficult.

·
Registered
851 Posts
Tavel said:
well i used to be a drummer in a ska band...so fast arm motions are no problem for me...i never considered other's would find them difficult.
its not bad (stock). i mean its a 25 second (1/4 mile) economy car :eek:, so i dont expect it to have the best shifter, but theres plenty of room for improvement

·
Registered
97 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
RBI*04 said:
its not bad (stock). i mean its a 25 second (1/4 mile) economy car :eek:, so i dont expect it to have the best shifter, but theres plenty of room for improvement

Exactly. I am just getting tired having to reach so far to shift. I dont really mind the height, but the distance is getting kind of old

·
PB JELLY TIME!
1,484 Posts