Nissan Forum banner
1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
206 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hi all...I have a 94 XE 4x4 KA24E with a 5speed. It's the first and only vehicle that i've ever driven that's manual transmission. I've been driving it for roughly a year now...I'm "ok" driving it. I don't stall and i haven't burned out the clutch but I'm not a pro yet either.

It seems like the more i drive the truck to work instead of my car, the worse my clutch technique gets. I don't know if i get cocky and start letting up the clutch too fast or what but I need some advice from the pros.

I see a lot of you have over 200,000 miles on a single clutch so maybe you can teach me some tricks...

Here's the questions i have...I know they're very "subjective" and people may have varying opinions and techniques but i'd like to hear them all....

I'm terrified of letting the clutch slip too much and because of that, as soon as the truck starts moving, i let off of clutch very quickly yielding a pretty jerky ride. How much slippage is normal from a complete stop?

Do you bring the clutch up until it grabs and THEN add gas? Do you add gas first to a certain RPM and then bring the clutch out?

What part of your foot do you use on the clutch? Your toes? The ball of your foot? The arch of your foot?

How do you slowly back out of a parking space? Do you get the truck barely moving and then step on the clutch and let it roll? Do you "ride" the clutch?

This may seem like a silly question but how close do you sit? Right now, my seat is adjusted so that I have to stretch my leg a little bit to bring the clutch to the floor. If i sit much closer, my knee hits the steering wheel when i let the clutch out so i have to twist my leg to the left a bit.

·
Registered
2 Posts