Nissan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 21 Posts

·
Registered
1,055 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Sorry don't kno if this belongs in SR20 or GA16 engine discussion, but how difficult would it be to swap my GA16 engine with a new SR20?

Currently I have no experience with anything dealing with the engine itself or transmission....
I am 16... and I was thinking could I put it in myself??
What tools would I need..... how long would it take.... can I do it without alot of help?

I think the only problem I would have is lifting the engine out, and the new one back in... and hooking up the transmission..

Then I wanted to swap my transmission with a standard (manual) rather than my damn automatic. Once again.. I have no experience with this... and I have been reading my hayne's manual.. and some websites for more info...

Could this be accomplished.. with just me.. and possibly my dad to help (no experience w/swapping engines)

Cause I kno for sure.. I do not want to pay $1000 for an "professional" install.

·
All over your face!
2,384 Posts
PrOxLaMuS© said:
Cause I kno for sure.. I do not want to pay $1000 for an "professional" install.
You'd be lucky to find that price on labor for what your wanting to do. My suggestion, knowing first hand abou this type of swap, is you should seek good help. This thing is a pain in the ass, and you should have a different car to use for at least 3 months, seeing how this is your first swap. You need tons of tools, lots of strong hand soap, and a good knowledge of how to wire it up. Nuts and bolts is one thing, but diagnostics is what is going to kill you. All I can say is good luck, and this might be a little out of your league.

to find out what parts are required and what not, use the search button. This topic has been covered well over 10 times in any of the given generations of b12 --> b15.

(this post was intended to be in a truthfull tone, and not a hating or 'flaming' frame of mind)

·
Registered
1,055 Posts
Discussion Starter #3