Nissan Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts
A

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
alright guys i'm new to this and kinda confused, i know the difference between the two but dont' know the advantages and disadvantages of the two. it seems coilovers are adjustable and struts just provide a simple suspension solution. what's the smartest way to go, i do alot of city driving and would consider doing a little autocross in the future. help me out please.

·
ex-Super *********
1,410 Posts
Coilovers are either a set of threaded collars, and seats that you put on stock like dampers(struts or shocks) or a set of dampers with threaded bodies and seats built in. the idea is ride height adjustibility and corner weighting. Struts on the other hand are just dampers. Struts and coilovers(like a GC set type 1) are 2 tottaly different things.

Coilover type one, the kit type

Coilover type two, the complete type

Strut(more proper term "Damper") The one on the left is a type 2 coilover, the 2 on the right are struts(dampers)

A

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
ok, thanks, so that's the difference, now why would i want to buy one versus the other? thanks for the clear pictures and everythign by the way.

·
ex-Super *********
1,410 Posts
Ok the reasons:

Good

Coilovers type 1 : Choice of spring rates, ride height adjustment, able to set corner weights, have options as to what dampers to use.

Coilovers type 2 : Choice of spring rates, ride height adjustment, able to set corner weights, One part assembly.

Bad
Type 1:
Seperate parts(from damper), may cause unwanted noise

Type 2:
No damper options

As for dampers, remember if you increase your spring rate your ride will suck if you do not get dampers that can handle the new rates( bouncy ride and prone to blow-out).

Any more questions, I am happy to help.

p.s. My reasons list is small(not every pro and con), just to give you an idea of the differences.

A

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #6