1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
even better the 2nd time
2,719 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
so, my starter went out

i bought one from a guy on SR20forum
he sent me one that looks completely different

can anyone help me determine what the problem is?
ive never dealt with the starter on an SR20, so im a complete noob when it comes to this

the original one that was on the car (that went out) is in the red box

the newer one that i bought is in the blue box

the guy i bought it from is saying that these starters are completely inter-changeable...but they look a lot different as you can see

can anyone help?

Attachments

·
TwiztidKidd
807 Posts
It's just a difference in design, if it fits in the engine block and the bolts line up then everything is okay. I'd try to turn the engine from one of the pulleys before you crank the new starter... just to see if the new starter clears the flywheel. Also you'll want to test the new starter while you still have it out.

·
even better the 2nd time
2,719 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
but the teeth on the flywheel wont even line up (or so my mechanic says)

im having a mechanic do it since ive never done it before

·
TwiztidKidd
807 Posts
Radioaktiv said:
but the teeth on the flywheel wont even line up (or so my mechanic says)

im having a mechanic do it since ive never done it before
There's nothing that has to line up but the bolts when you install it... and the pinion gear when you crank the engine. The one you bought has a Hitachi design, the pinion gear just pops out of the starter when you crank the engine. Your original looks a lot like Mitsubishi, Bosch kind cause it has a gear case over the pinion gear. Actually I like the Hitachi design better.

·
TwiztidKidd
807 Posts