Nissan Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
SR16VE into 98 sentra w/ GA motor?

alright, i'm new in nissan forums, altho i've been a nissan gear head for some time. anyways my question is that i've heard great things and have done much research on the SR16VE from japan, and i wanted to know if anyone has done one, and if so how hard is it, what do i need to do it, and can it be done in my sentra. now i've got a 98 with the GA motor in it. if you could give me some help that would be awesome, thanks. :D

·
Registered
316 Posts
Lets lay some groundwork first. First, the SR16VE is basically the same as a SR20VE as far as a swap is concerned, second you are going to need to do all of the same things that you normally do to swap in a sr20 into a ga16 car. Other then that the swap is pretty easy. I have a complete writeup on it in the VE section of sr20deforum.com. Look for the Sticky. I swaped a sr20ve into my 98 SE.

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
nice, how's it runnin now? have you ran it at the track yet? if i do this swap will i still have daliy driver realiablity? thanks for your help bro.

·
Registered
316 Posts
If you want a 1/4 mile car AND a daily driver I would say go turbo. Weight is the problem with the B14's and chasing a 2100lbs civic with a better engine but 400 lbs more weight is tough. I have run a [email protected] with street tires and weighing 2485 (no driver). Even with street tires a 14.2-.4 is achievable with my car. I just not interested too much in the 1/4 mile world. This thing is great for the autocross. Lots of low end torque and plenty of high end power. I have H/I/E on it now and put down 180whp.

·
Registered
82 Posts
Discussion Starter #5