Nissan Forum banner

Status
Not open for further replies.
1 - 20 of 37 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Hey all.

I'm a newbie to the Nissan scene, and was wondering how the Spec V stacks up to the competition.

I just purchased a 2003 Spec V. I have been looking around for performace numbers, 0-60, 1/4 mile, but have been coming up short. I have been coming across sites which praise the Spec V for it's handling, but then turn around and ridicule it for the low wheel horsepower/torque numbers as compared to crank. :(

My question is, where does the Spec V stand when confronted by cars such as prelude's, GTI's, RSX. Should I have anything to worry about? :)

Thanks

·
Registered
254 Posts
well consider the amount you spent on it. Not as much as the others you mentioned. However, its DEFINITLY a formidable car! You dont roll away from a spec V easily.

also, check out the forums for relocation of the knock sensor! :p happy hunting

G

·
Discussion Starter · #3 ·
all factory HP/TQ ratings are from the crank and not the wheels. ALL cars and trucks lose from 15 - 25 percent from the factory ratings depending on manual/automatic, final drive ratio, torque converter (if automatic), etc.. A recent article I read on the Dodge Dakota RT showed rear wheel horsepower of 150 on factory rating of 250 HP! The 17% loss on the spec v is normal and not that bad.... By the way, anyone know the final drive ratio on the spec v?

·
Registered
86 Posts
spec v specs

according to car and driver the spec v does 0-60 in 7.4 seconds and 1/4 mile in 15.7. I ran mine with aem cai and finished the 1/4 mile in 15.4.

G

·
Discussion Starter · #5 ·
hey just to let ya know that i am running 14.5's on i/h/e, stock tires lowered and a body kit. thats all that needs to be said.

·
Registered
86 Posts
BlackSE-RSpecV said:
hey just to let ya know that i am running 14.5's on i/h/e, stock tires lowered and a body kit. thats all that needs to be said.
What kind of springs and body kit do you have?

G