Nissan Forum banner

1 - 5 of 5 Posts

·
Registered
7 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello all, I am new to the frontier, just purchased less than a week ago. I have a 2004 XE-V6 Crew Cab, 2wd, sport package. I was thumbing through the owners manual and noticed that there is a SLIP indicator light. It stated that the light blinks when the slip is being used, and also comes on for a few seconds when you start the engine. I was looking for this light and I do not have one. I was wondering if anyone had any insight on this? I don't know if this is an equipped option on the xe models or not. Since I have the sport package with the limited slip differential, I assumed that this light is supposed to be on here. Let me know what you think......

·
Registered
100 Posts
frontiermanshaun said:
Hello all, I am new to the frontier, just purchased less than a week ago. I have a 2004 XE-V6 Crew Cab, 2wd, sport package. I was thumbing through the owners manual and noticed that there is a SLIP indicator light. It stated that the light blinks when the slip is being used, and also comes on for a few seconds when you start the engine. I was looking for this light and I do not have one. I was wondering if anyone had any insight on this? I don't know if this is an equipped option on the xe models or not. Since I have the sport package with the limited slip differential, I assumed that this light is supposed to be on here. Let me know what you think......
I'm don't know much about 4x4 but I am pretty sure that slip refers to slip differntial found on 4x4's, which kind of cancels you out since u have a 2wd...

·
woo-hoo
391 Posts
The "Slip" light is probably only valid on models with the Dynamic Control Package which is a stability control program. Not many frontiers came with it and I'm not sure if it was available on XE's the limited slip is mechanical so it won't trigger anything. You'll know when it works because you will still be moving forward even though only one wheel spins some.