Nissan Forum banner
1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I have been driving this car for about 4 years and runs good, but yesterday after driving, stopped the car for about 30 min then started up the engine , pull the level to D to go ahead but the transmission stayed in reverse, also feels loose and not engage any position. now I can not start the engine and the level still is loose so I have to apply the manual brake so the car doesn't move. any help will be appreciated.
thanks

·
Registered
1,818 Posts
This could possibly be the shift mechanism, not the transmission. There is a cable that runs from the shift leveer to the trans. See if the trans end moves when you move the shift lever.

Lew

·
Registered
1,014 Posts
sentral said:
I have been driving this car for about 4 years and runs good, but yesterday after driving, stopped the car for about 30 min then started up the engine , pull the level to D to go ahead but the transmission stayed in reverse, also feels loose and not engage any position. now I can not start the engine and the level still is loose so I have to apply the manual brake so the car doesn't move. any help will be appreciated.
thanks
hey, I have a tranny for sale if your interested. Its from a 1992, with about 75,000 on it. Ran synthetic and a cooler on it since new, it was beat on either, mostly highway miles, a school commuter car. I did the manual swap, so I have it sitting here. I have the lower harness, the torque converter, mounts, etc. I don't know if it meshes with your year. let me know if your interested. [email protected]

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·
lshadoff said:
This could possibly be the shift mechanism, not the transmission. There is a cable that runs from the shift leveer to the trans. See if the trans end moves when you move the shift lever.

Lew
the shift lever is not getting any position, is complete loose

·
TwiztidKidd
807 Posts