Nissan Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
31 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
Sentra 90 Front brake system question

Hi, i am a newbie here and in the world of cars, i bought a 2dr 90 Sentra a couple months ago and well it have been wonderful, no problems yet, just a few things like little looses doors, no biggy.
The only thing is that i live in Costa Rica, central America, and well here the terrain on not flat at all.
The usual weekend trip here is going to the beach for the weekend, we have beautiful ones at 150km , but the thing is there are some mountains to cross for that, i mean 40 min climbing in 2nd and 3rd shift at most and then you have 40km down to sea level, the usual problem on this road, and every trip costarrican do to the beach is, brakes, you have to have good ones.
2 months ago i changed my front brake pads, and after a couple of week's when they were settled, like my mechanic guy said, i went to the beach, you have to be smart using compression and braked, for not the get overheated pads, but mine were, and boy, i saw smoke from the front wheels, and well i joined the list of cars that have to pull off the road for a while.
This upcoming easter week, i am planning to tho the same trip, but i know it will be the same thing, because there are so many cars in the road, that you have to apply a lot your brakes.
My question is, i see a lot of stuff for sentra's in ebay, or other performance stores, but almost no one talk about <91 Sentras, how different is theirs braking system? can i buy some nice "Nissan Sentra [91-95] Fr Drill/Slot Rotors" and adapt them to my 90? is there something i can do to my lacking of force and easily overheating front brakes?
any suggestions?

In the house/work trip 0 problems, decent brakes, but when i need them most, they fail.

·
Registered
2,376 Posts