Nissan Forum banner
1 - 12 of 12 Posts
20 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I'm a newbie and I have been reading just about all day. I just got an 05 Spec V and looking for suggestions as to what would be the best mod to start with as far as performance goes. I have put about 600 miles on the car since Monday and love the way it drives, but(of course) would love more go juice. WHat is the best thing to start with? :newbie:

·
Powered By hopes & dreams
8,328 Posts
start by finishing the proper break in of the car ;)

I'd say, wait until 10,000 miles or so before voiding the warranty by modding it. Just to be safe. Get used to the car and the quirks and handling characteristics.

·
Mofo fo life
2,103 Posts
good point mike.

i'd recomend suspension mods, to go with what the spec-v was meant for. Sorry to break the news, but the spec-v isnt meant for drag racing stock, and will take quite a bit to be competive with other cars in its class.

The spec-v reacts very werl to suspenion and chassis mods. so i suggest those first until the enngine is broken in and you get to know your car a bit better.

·
Not Anymore.
5,014 Posts
Energy Suspension Motor Mount Inserts. They do not void your warranty, costs only about 40-50 bucks, are relatively easy to install and make a huge difference in terms of reducing wheel hop and smoother shifts. This also eliminates the worry of tearing the soft OE mounts.

·
PB JELLY TIME!
1,484 Posts
My first mod was a cold air intake. Some power but a very nice aggressive sound. Then I got motor mount inserts and those are defenitely worth their money. I waited till about 1,500 miles to mod the car. I dont see waiting till 10,000 miles although I am almost there. I also have a downpipe and will get my exhaust and header in January. Intake, exhaust, header are usually the first mods.

·
Registered
91 Posts
yeah. . . if you really care about that warranty. . . make sure you read that damn paper they give you and don't let them fuck you over.