Nissan Forum banner

1 - 7 of 7 Posts

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
hi

i am looking to rebuild a e series engine , just some thing for me and my kids to do to increase our range on car knowlage , parts and spares are not much of a worry as i work in the industry ,

i have a basic 1300 block and head , to which i will fit a weber carb and regrind camshaft and some headers

not looking to turbo for as i hope my son will learn to drive the car when old enough

from my reading of the fourms , i understand the block , cranshaft and heads are much the same

if i find and fit e15 rods to what i have now i should have 1500cc ?

do i need e15 pistons or can i still use the e13 ones

will i need to check valve clearance etc

any help would be much appreciated

·
Registered
51 Posts
I do not have my Haynes manual on me, but you are better off just taking that 1300 and stroking it to the 1600cc.

if i find and fit e15 rods to what i have now i should have 1500cc ?

Yes, you should. However, I do think the cranks are different.

do i need e15 pistons or can i still use the e13 ones

No need for them. If you can, go for forged e13 ones.

will i need to check valve clearance etc

Whatever you stroke it to (1400cc-1600cc) use the same series manufactures valve lash adjustment.

·
Registered
11 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
cheers for your answers pulseman

what is involved in stroking it to 1600

thinking about it i think i would need the e15 crank as if i use the e13 with e15 rods the the throw would be the same just lower down the bore

am i right in thinking the valve lash adj is what we call valve clearance you set when you adj the tappets

i was more worried about piston to valve clearance when changing the crank , rods , pistons etc

once again thanks for your time

·
Registered
68 Posts
Hi!
Im busy modding my E13s at the moment!

You are correct in saying that the blocks are the same, except that FI blocks dont have a fuel pump facility as my carbed block has.