Nissan Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1 (Edited)
I'm a bit new to transmissions so... I will try to explain as best I can.

I have a 2001 Nissan/Datsun Maxima SE 3.0L FI DOHC 6cyl

So, I am looking to swap out my old (damaged) transmission with a used (less mileage one), mainly as the cost of a newer transmission (or a rebuilt/remanufactured) exceeds what I paid to get it (only got it a few months back too).

Based on the vin number (through starting by looking at remanufactured ones), it seems the transmission in this one should be model: RE4F04A

Now, as I am looking up this model number I am finding it in other Nissans besides Maxima (and some other cars, but that seems to be the case with my older car that I had before this too, but never actually worked on its tranny, just looked into it).

Now my question is as such.

Autozone, claims the ones that came from say: an Altima (or made for it) will not fit and only the one that came from the Maxima will, despite that the model number for that specific tranny is the same.

The only difference I can see (as I'm not versed in trannies and as such don't know if there is a difference between them).

Is that the Altima has a 2.8 Engine where the Maxima has a 3.0

So my question is...

If both trannys have the same model number, shouldn't they be the same?
Shouldn't it fit in it regardless? Or did they actually make different versions of the same tranny.

Note, both trannys (Altima and Maxima one) as far as I can tell have the exact same specs. So I have no real reason to believe I can't swap it out with this one. My only concern is will it really not fit as the auto-parts places claim? Or is this a ploy to make me get the far more expensive (but exactly the same as far as I can tell, and the model number giving me no reason to believe they aren't)... one?