Nissan Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello im new at this. so forgive me. Do you have to swap the tranny if your doin an rb20 swap on an s13? Ive heard of the rb25 tranny with the rb26 engine. but what about the rb20? thank you .

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Hello.. what transmition do i need for an rb20.. any help pleaseeeee?????somebody please. just give any kind of answer.

·
KA24DET
1,000 Posts
The RB20 transmission and block are completely different than any of the S13 stuff. Think about what cars the stuff came on: RB20 came on the R32 GTS-t and the Laurel, but not on any car with an S13 chassis. Basically, any of the S13 stuff will be pretty much interchangeable, but when you cross boundaries like that, you need to take more and more from the donor car.
If you're planning on doing an RB20 swap, you need to have the whole engine with transmission.
If you need any help, OPIUM works at a swap shop and drives an RB20DET powered 240SX.

·
All over your face!
2,384 Posts
CrimsonKnight said:
Hello.. what transmition do i need for an rb20.. any help pleaseeeee?????somebody please. just give any kind of answer.
You can use either the RB20 or the RB25 transmission with any RB series motor. However you can also use the guts of the stock KA24 transmission in an RB trans shell. Certain parts have to be modified, but it still works and has been done before.

·
Tarmac Terrorist
272 Posts
OPIUM said:
You can use either the RB20 or the RB25 transmission with any RB series motor. However you can also use the guts of the stock KA24 transmission in an RB trans shell. Certain parts have to be modified, but it still works and has been done before.
Any idea what is the better Transmission? The RB20 or RB25 RWD setup?
or are they exactly the same? :cheers:

·
All over your face!
2,384 Posts