Nissan Forum banner

1 - 4 of 4 Posts

·
A Passerby
176 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
For those of you who have sold your rims or tires online, what is your recommended method to ship them? What are the best companies to ship through? Do you package the wheels yourself or to they get packaged by whoever is shipping them? What is a good technique to wrap and package wheels for long distance shipping? Are there any common pitfalls to watch for?

Thanks in advance,

·
even better the 2nd time
2,719 Posts
grab some boxes from behind the grocery store or the likes

they charge more than you'd think to package large items like that

lightweight packing material is key of course. id suggest bubble wrap and cardboard (yes, cardboard). sliding a couple extra layers of cardboard around the wheels is lightweight and effective against scratching/dinging.

i guess thats all i can think of right now

·
Viva el iPod
1,232 Posts
I used to ship wheels for a living here's what I did:

Are they wheels with tires mounted? If so let the air out (duh, saves wieght but more importantly the tires won't explode!), find a huge box (don't remember the size, I think 24x24x24) and stack them one on top of the other, put a Large piece of material in between that will not sratch them and a piece of that same stuff over the top of the top wheel. To make sure they don't slide around I wedged pieces of cardboard shaped like triangles (like those Tobolorone (sp?) candy bars) until they fit snug in box. Cut the box down from the top, tape all the seams (ALL of them), and I used those shipping bands around it.