Nissan Forum banner

1 - 6 of 6 Posts

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am a newbie and a dummy :rolleyes: when it comes to electrical problems on a car. I have a 1996 Nissan Maxima GXE. When you crank the car it is almost impossible to move out of park. Especially in the morning. I have researched it and think I have figured it out. Its called the brake interlock switch. The question I have is this hard to replace are do I need to take it to Nissan dealership and pay $450. :rolleyes: Even though the part probally cost $13.95 and the labor to change it about 5 minutes. :) But that is what I get from not going to Nissan College and learning how to rip people off and be able to sleep with a clear conscience. :cool: Thanks for any help you can provide to save on my frustration. In Christ's Name, Chris Godfrey

·
Registered
2 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
brianw said:
If you know how to replace it, then why take it to a dealer? :)
I don't have a clue where it is on the car. I also am not completely sure that is what is wrong with it. Thanks

·
Registered
783 Posts
Oh... sorry.

I was reading your message and it sounded like you had a good idea what was wrong and how to fix it. Pardon my confusion. :)

Hard to move out of park... Park/Neutral Position switch may be out of adjustment. Check the FSM, in the `99 it's page AT-83. Looks fairly straightforward if it's just an adjustment... unfortunately the FSM does not describe this specific condition exactly, so it's hard to say. I don't see an actual brake interlock switch in the `99 FSM AT section. You might want to check with a good independent Nissan mechanic and see if you can get a better diagnosis and an estimate.

edit: I do see a brake switch, but no specific trouble diagnosis related to it...

·
Registered
9 Posts
TRU2AU said:
I don't have a clue where it is on the car. I also am not completely sure that is what is wrong with it. Thanks