Nissan Forum banner

1 - 3 of 3 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I am looking at "performance chips". My Nissan Sentra SE 2.0 is already pretty fast. While I was car shopping I found that Nissan cars were hard to find used. People were keeping these and not selling. I went back to college in 2000 and later. I studied electronic engine controls. If a performance chip overrides the ECU of my Nissan, that would be great. If anyone has had bad or good luck with these chips please let me know. Thanks, Paul D. 0:)0:)

·
NF Mod/Nissan Master Tech
9,298 Posts
Most of the "performance chips" sold just simply give a false intake air temperature reading to the ECM to make it run the engine a little richer; they are a waste of money. If you want to run a performance tuned ECM, you need to find someone that can create a custom tune and reprogram the ECM. I would think UpRev or JWT would be your best bets, but, if you are not making any modifications in regards to the intake system, exhaust system and/or engine modifications (i.e. performance cams, if you can find them and I would be surprised if you did), I would think it would be a waste of money, personally.

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
Performance chips

Most of the "performance chips" sold just simply give a false intake air temperature reading to the ECM to make it run the engine a little richer; they are a waste of money. If you want to run a performance tuned ECM, you need to find someone that can create a custom tune and reprogram the ECM. I would think UpRev or JWT would be your best bets, but, if you are not making any modifications in regards to the intake system, exhaust system and/or engine modifications (i.e. performance cams, if you can find them and I would be surprised if you did), I would think it would be a waste of money, personally.