Nissan Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts
M

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Apologies if this has been discussed before, but I had no luck searching for "oil filter relocation" or "remote oil filter."

I'm looking for a high quality oil filter relocation kit for my '96 200SX. I'm new to the Nissan performance/parts world, and I'm not sure where to go. If someone could tell me about the various kits available (or point me in the right direction), I'd appreciate it.

Is the firewall the preferred mounting location? Any other caveats to be aware of? Who's a good/trusted vendor?

Thanks in advance.

·
freakish poster
1,236 Posts
Just out of curiosity, what's the advantage to doing this? I would imagine you have or plan to have other mods? And welcome to the boards!

M

·
0 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
The main advantage is easier access to the filter. The filter actually isn't *that* hard to reach, but I don't like crawling around down there on my garage floor. I always spill some oil while changing too. If the filter were mounted on the firewall or somewhere else easily accessible from the top, I wouldn't even have to ramp/jack the car up for changes.

Other advantages could be: More oil in the system (not much, but the engine doesn't hold much anyways); Looks kinda neat.

As for other mods...I dunno. I've been pouring most of my mod-money into my MX-5, and there's not much left over at the moment. :)

Oh -- and thanks for welcoming me to the forum. I'm a regular over at miataforum.com. I hope this forum proves to be as useful a resource.

·
ex-Super *********
1,410 Posts
http://www.nissanforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=2073&highlight=oil+filter

http://www.nissanforums.com/showthread.php?s=&threadid=261&highlight=oil+filter