Nissan Forum banner
1 - 3 of 3 Posts
G

·
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Sup peoples im new to the 240sx world I have a 1989 240sz with 80k milles . I just wanted some advice my trani slips when im drivin at about 3000 rpm it doesnt happen all the time but it usually happens when im on the freeway running at the same speed for a while. Any info on that i just dont want to go in blind when i go to the shop. Another question what engine does it have i know its a 2.4 4 cylinder but what engine model. What do u guys think are the first mods i should do to make it alittle more fun to drive. THanx fellas appreciate the help.

·
Registered
99 Posts
Dear friend...

Hey dOOd,

Well, from what it sounds like... you are slipping in a steady 2nd gear? 1st gear you probably don't notice much.. cuz it is a quick rev (short gear). However, in 2nd gear you probably feel it cuz it is the *driving idle* if you get what I am saying. Could be that your tranny is giving up bro. I would suggest you take it to the shop A.S.A.P. before anything else -worse- happens! You don't want wear being induced onto your engine (even though the TRUCK ENGINE can handle it)! heh!

Your engine code is known as: KA24DE (KA - Series/24 - Displacement/DE - Direct Electronic Fuel Injection *If I am not mistaken*). Either way, it is a 2.4 litre 4 cylinder Nissan Truck Engine. From 1989-1990 the engine produced 144HP while the 1991-1993 KA24DE produced 155HP with matching torque range. It was taken from the Nissan truck platform because of its fuel economy, mid range power, and availability (cheap engine to produce too). That is why they call it a TRUCK ENGINE. It is seriously indestructable man. You can try to nuke it and you'll hurt the bomb rather then the block. Hahah!