Nissan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 20 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
i have an 86 nissan sentra 2dr hatch back 1.6 manual (5spd). i have a manual but its for the pulsar, datsun, sentra, looking under the air filter at the carburetor i notice hoses that arent conntected to anything, i know the AC has been taken out but im not sure at to what else is missing or not connected, i do notice that in the book i cant find a damn thing, im a newbie at cars, im more of a computer tech and i dont have the space to take it all apart and put it all back together let alone the know how. are the any photos of the carburetor and vacumm hoses that i can look at to try and get it all running, i go through oil like a facet does water and i smoke like theres a fire in my pants i cant. there doesnt seem to be any oil leak, but i cant seem to figure anything out. also it has trouble starting, it likes to start cold for some reason but if it runs for any length of time i have to pop start it. any help would be greatly appreciated

·
M-Unit Racing
627 Posts
Sounds like to me you have a peice of shit lol j/k j/k calm down chill out.

First of all..if its smoking really bad, I think it about time you got a new motor. I know you dont know much about cars and motors and such. How many miles is on the car? A used e15 (e16 is your engine number) from Japan shouldnt cost you more than 400-450 shipped. They come low mileage,very cheap and they are a direct replacement. But im worried since you dont know much about cars and you dont have much space, you wont be able to swap the motor yourself. All I know to tell you is get a friend with a shop and some skills.

getting back on topic: now for the carb/throttle body, I have a manual and hose diagram for you, but I will have to go to my g-maws house and scan it. plus I dont know if I have the right year manual for an 86. BTW..what kind of manual do you have? Haynes makes a damn good one IMO.