Nissan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys im new to the nissan world never owned one but always liked the 98 XE short bed. I was just wandering what years did they make this body style and what you guys think about the truck itself. I just need something that gets decent gas milaged and that i can still take camping. I been looking into the 4cyl with the 5spd. Also been thinking about an early frontier. Any advice would be appreciated.

·
Registered
96 Posts
Well, that IS an early frontier.. first year as a matter of fact.. Since this is a hardbody forum, this might be better asked in a frontier forum. They made that body style from 1998 to 2004. Im not sure on the reliability of that era. Nissan at that time was literally on the verge of extinction.. Look up carsurvey.org and get a real world opinion of the reliability and satisfaction.

Good Luck!

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
well I think i know what frontier you are talking about and that is something that I would like to look into also but the XE short bed i mentioned was a hardbody. It may not have been a 98 maybe it was a 97 if i remember correctly i have only seen two different trim levels one as a king cab and then the regular cab. The truck has a nice stance to it looks like it may have a small factory body lift. does that help any? i will also check out that website.

·
Registered
96 Posts
1997 was the last year for the hardbody. They came in 3 trim levels.. Base, XE and SE. All have the four cylinder 12 valve engine. very durable and solid trucks. They have a very square appearance to them. The Frontier had a bit of a slant to the nose and the beds were not as deep as the Hardbody which is kinda weird since Nissan often mentioned how deep the bed was when comparing to Toyota.

·
Registered
8 Posts
Discussion Starter #6