Nissan Forum banner

1 - 16 of 16 Posts

·
Registered
9 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
I work as a sole proprietor. I have a customer who has a 2005 Frontier SE, with the 4.0 engine. 114000 miles. In March of 2019, oil pressure was getting very close to 14 PSI, when the red engine oil light comes on momentarily at idle. I found some information on the cause being very common, and when I took the plates off the timing chain area for the oil passages, there was a 2 in section of gasket that was blown out. So I went ahead and resealed them with RTV, I went ahead and put new timing components on it for the heck of it while I was in there, and the oil pressure would still go low at idle just not low enough to ever kick on the red oil light.

two weeks ago the customer brought it back with the red oil light coming on at idle after full warm up and everything, I figured it's time to go ahead and two weeks ago the customer brought it back with the red oil light coming on at idle after full warm up and everything, I figured it's time to go ahead and replace the oil pump. So I get back in there, and I roll in New main bearings and replace all of the rod bearings. I figured why not, I got it from Rock Auto and figured that if I pull them out and they have a little bit of wear, but the crank looks fine, no problem putting in new bearings. By the way this is a manual, I hope the front of the crankshaft up with an engine holding device so that it wouldn't droop down. That was a fun job in very easy to do.