Nissan Forum banner

1 - 8 of 8 Posts

·
Registered
3 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi,
Today while looking for an inexpensive commuter car I came across a couple of late 80s/possibly 1990 Sentras at a local tow yard. I am pretty interested and always liked that bodystyle, but I don't know much about these particular cars, especially issues they have when they get older. I'm a pretty accomplished mechanic so I'm not afraid to dive in and fix things. I'll list my questions to try and be as clear as possible:
1) what years were they carbed and what year did FI enter the picture?
2) Known problems with these cars, especially as they age?
3) Are they generally fairly peppy or slugs? (Car will spend most of its time on the freeway)
4) What kind of MPG do they get? (both carb and FI)
5) Easy upgrades for a bit more power?
6) Are they easy to work on and maintain or very cramped and just basically difficult?

I'll do some searching on the site, but if I decide to try and get them I have to move quick, which is why I'm asking questions right away b4 doing more research.
Thanks!

·
Registered
1,124 Posts
87-90 is the b12 model which is what im more familiar with, my nisan books in the car so i cant possitively give u any info without being sure on anything older, the 87 sentra came normally carbed with a e16 engine but im pretty sure the e16i efi engine was a option
in 88 the e16i was pretty much standard, 5 speed is the way to go in my opinion for this car of any year
89 and 90 had the ga16i engine which has 20 more hp than the former e16 engine which had 70. its also got a timing chain instead of a belt like the e16. i used to hate the whole ga16i engine but now i just hate the fact that its chain driven mostly because they are known to blow up so that would be one thing to deff change or look at