Nissan Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, I am new to bardbody's, but have been into nissans/datsuns for 5 years now. I needed a truck that could be a good commuter and parts hauler and i love the hardbody pickups. I just had some questions before I truly consider buying.

Any "teething" problems still remaining in the 91 year? A guy on craigslist said the MPFI engines had "problems" vs the earlier TBI Z24's.

Is it possible to swap the 3rd member from a 720 pickup 4wd (h190) into a hardbody 2wd for lower gearing and more grunt if I tow the 510 around with it?

And lastly, is this some goofy digi tach, or just a placeholder?

Thanks!!!

·
Registered
117 Posts
i havent had any probs with my 90 or 94 as far as that goes and i tow my 20' terry camper that weights 5400lbs but i dont hit 50mph there pretty tough i dont know bout the tranny swap and the tach is just a place holder thats the same cluster as in my 90 you can get a cluster with a working tach itll go right in

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I assume you have helper springs? You tow a trailer that big with a 4 cyl???

·
Registered
117 Posts
i run air shocks

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter #8
91 fell thru, total heap, paint falling off, touched up with house paint, exhaust rotten, starter dying, ac blows hot, etc etc, and they still wanted 2500 with 175000 miles on it

Now looking at a 97 possibly

·
Registered
117 Posts
ya now that i think about it mine was bent so i had to cut the end of it off cause it would rub on the guage it self

·
Registered
3,344 Posts
my needle warped, rubbed the gauge, broke the cable
long story short, I replaced the speedo, cable and speedo pinion gear..
its all good now!

·
Registered
117 Posts
good thing i fixed mine asap then hu!

·
Registered
160 Posts
Discussion Starter #12
THread update

So how do the 97's fare under the criticism of this forum?

97 2wd single cab

·
Registered
41 Posts