Nissan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 34 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello,

I am new to Nissans and new to the forum. I have looked through the forums before joining and find a lot of really helpful information. I am hoping to receive some help here.

I have a 1990 Stanza (KA24E) that doesn't run. A mechanic diagnosed good spark, good fuel, good compression, bad timing. Timing chain appears to have jumped enough teeth to prevent it from running, but not enough to kiss any valves. Mechanic also said 12+ hours to replace. The car has 206k miles on it and I thought it would be a good thing to try replacing the chain myself.

I bought the timing kit (gears, guides, tensioners, chain, crank seal) along with valve cover gasket and oil pan gasket. I also have the Chilton's manual, which leaves a lot to be desired.

Can anyone provide do's and don'ts, instructions, guidance, suggestions for this job before I get started? Most of my experience is wrenching domestic V-8's and Cummins diesels so this is new for me.

I'm going to get dirty this weekend, so any advice is appreciated.

Thank you in advance.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #2
Anyone have good info?

Thanks again.

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
I have the Chilton's, but I'm not thrilled with it. I was hoping someone who had gone through it already might have a link to instructions or some advice.

·
Registered
18 Posts
I hear ya, I wasn't thrilled about it, either. I asked around for something similar to what you are and was only able to get a couple responses to any hints, etc.. I also have a chiltons, and plan on using the steps in that to do mine this weekend. If you don't plan on doing yours this weekend, I'll be glad to give you any info with my experience after I complete mine.

http://www.nissanforums.com/showthread.php?t=90364

Good luck

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #6
Progress Update: