Nissan Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
61 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
It looks to be in good mechanical shape, but it spun a rod bearing pretty badly.

I've already got an entirely new engine on it's way from California, and a buddy and I are going to be doing the swap upon receipt.

How's $800 for a complete car, with only a spun rod bearing, 102k on the chassis sound?

I think I got a pretty good deal. :D

Any suggestions for best/first mods?

As you can tell by my signature, I'm not a novice at this :)

Z

·
0 Posts
Sounds like a good deal. If you want to go the bolt-on route, then I suggest starting with a CAI, then a Hotshot header. It doesn't matter too much what order you do the mods in, really. If you want cams, I suggest some JWT cams and a JWT ECU upgrade to go with them. Don't bother with an exhaust upgrade until you've done the cams and header, because you won't see a noticable difference until then.

I see you built a Civic up already, so here's some things not to do to your SE-R: Don't modify your throttle body. Don't change your MAF out for a bigger one unless your stock one is broken or unless you're going to push over 250 HP though it. Use STOCK spark plugs and wires. Aftermarket ones for the SE-R generally suck nads, and people running stock wires and plugs (albeit colder heat ranges) have seen well over 400 wheel HP with them with perfect reliability.

Don't bother with aftermarket engine management (tecII, etc) unless you really know what you're doing. The JWT ECU is a better solution unless you really like to tinker with your maps all the time. Remember the SE-R is MAF based, not MAP.

And that's all I can think of right now... hope you have fun with it. :)

·
Registered
47 Posts