Nissan Forum banner

1 - 11 of 11 Posts

·
Registered
333 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey guys i need some help. IM a college student at Gainsville College in Oak Wood Georgia. I'm next to poor and i want to supe up my car. I'v already purchased a Tucan strut bar. It coasted about 75 bucks (do you think that that was a good buy?)
Im looking for a cheap cool air intake. are there any suggestions or is there anyone close by that has went turbo and doesn't need there intake anymore. And one more question. Does the intake pipe come with a spot to plug up the M.A.F?

I will greatly apprieciate any replys to the questions that i've asked!:)

·
Registered
85 Posts
nothing is cheap about fixing our rides... the only cheap cai is a custom made one... and you'll have to make it yourself... you're best bet is to just an adapter to you maf and just put a filter in... it's not a cai, but it'll only you about $40...

·
Registered
333 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I already have a home made cai. I made it from my buddies filter that he had on his civic. I used the peice of metal that was bolted to the plastic air box. I fitt the rubber peice of the air filter into the inner circle of the metal peace tht came from the old air box. It was totally free!! and it worked damn good. It gave me a little more power but it was mainly the change in tone that impressed me!

·
Paging Mr. Herman
1,042 Posts
Well....you are in the wrong hobby in you are looking for something cheap to do. ;)

If you are looking to save some $$, try to hunt down a used CAI on the classified section or eBay, you may be able to find something. You could also buy a WAI and save some money. I bought my HKS intake for $180 and I really like it, sounds great and gives a nice jump in power. Or you could always stick w/ the homemade one. Your intake sounds interesting to say the least....there are a lot of people who have made their own, search the boards and I'm sure you can find a write up.