Nissan Forum banner

1 - 10 of 10 Posts

·
Registered
828 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
Greeting-
I have a simple question. About how many miles or years should you get out of an 1996 GXE Altima before it dies. I have 176,000 miles. The car okay, I have had a few hiccupes in 2004. Bad distributor, air intake manifold gasket and now I need a new CV joint as I was told. The body is in pretty decent shape, not mentioning the slight rust and ding and dents from shopping parking lots. I just bought a 2003 Altim, it runs like a peach. I am hoping to get as much life out of this car as possible. I am not a mechanic, a mechanical engineer though, So to avoid the exspensive labour cost I have started to fix somethings myself.

·
I miss good ol' OT
1,716 Posts
LONDONDERRY said:
Greeting-
I have a simple question. About how many miles or years should you get out of an 1996 GXE Altima before it dies. I have 176,000 miles. The car okay, I have had a few hiccupes in 2004. Bad distributor, air intake manifold gasket and now I need a new CV joint as I was told. The body is in pretty decent shape, not mentioning the slight rust and ding and dents from shopping parking lots. I just bought a 2003 Altim, it runs like a peach. I am hoping to get as much life out of this car as possible. I am not a mechanic, a mechanical engineer though, So to avoid the exspensive labour cost I have started to fix somethings myself.

Almost any car, if well taken care of an not abused (especially a Toyota, Honda, or newer Nissan) could last up to 500,000 miles. Of course you are going to be replacing the usual suspects, water pumps, alternator/battery, brakes, exhaust, etc.....

·
Biru O' Kudasai
1,426 Posts
Your Altima may have a few things wrong but very few 9-10 year old cars wouldn't. I would think your car could go another 50-75k without too much trouble. I recommend getting a Haynes manual or the 96 Altima service manual.

Troy

·
Registered
828 Posts
Discussion Starter · #4 ·