Nissan Forum banner

1 - 19 of 19 Posts

·
Registered
6 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
I will admit that I am a n00b when it comes to cars, so I came here seeking advice.

I need to renew my tabs fairly soon, so I went to take an emissions test. I failed the test, went to the dealership, paid $80 for a scan, only for them to tell me that I need to spend $900 ($550 for the part, $350 for labor) to replace my *left catalytic converter. They also told me that a dealership is the only place that will have this part, and they are the only people who can replace it. (I am going to call BS). Nevertheless, I think I am going to avoid going to a dealership ever again.

I am a college student, and I do not have an extra $900 sitting around to fix it. I live in Washington, so I could spend $150 trying to get it fixed, and if I fail agian, I can just get a waiver.

But, rather than doing that, I want to get it fixed. So I talked with a few friends, and I started doing searches for Catalytic Converters online. First I started with eBay, but I doubt most of the pieces there can be considered quality. Everywhere else I search, I cannot find a place that has a Catalytic Converter for my 2000 Nissan Maxima SE.

Anyways, I was wondering if anyone had an opinion of what I should do, or where I can get a Catalytic Converter. The only one I could find is Here (http://cgi.ebay.com/ws/eBayISAPI.dll?ViewItem&item=5575044442), so tell me what you think, but like I said before, I don't think it is of stellar quality.

Thanks.

*The left doesn't make sense to me because when I have searched for Catalytic Converters, they have always been "front" and "rear". So I am not sure what "left" corresponds to.

·
Banned
200 Posts
shanepez said:
I will admit that I am a n00b when it comes to cars, so I came here seeking advice.