Nissan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 23 Posts

·
Registered
19 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hello, i am new to these fourms and i have just bought a 1992 nissan 240sx and i have some questions...

1. tell me this my car is a 5spd but has an overdrive light on the right beside the rear windshield wiper/washer button, why? what is susposed to be there?

2. i was told my car is a se due to it having SE on the hatch but i have come to relize it has no power windows or locks or mirrors, is there a way to make at least the mirrors power?, like a how to?

3. around 2000 rpm the engine shakes abnormaly and sounds like its backfiring i have repaced the fuel filter and put new spark plugs (NGK)..anything else i should look for/or do?

4. a/c does not work, when i press the a/c button, no light comes on, maybe no a/c in my car...what would i look for in the engine bay to show that i have a/c

thanks alot guys, like i said i am new to these fourms, i sold my 94 integra gsr to buy this 240sx, becuse i love the RWD, and am planning for a sr20det swap, all the info i can get will be helpfull

·
Registered
16 Posts
I think you got ripped off. Sounds to me like you were sold an auto that was converted to 5 spd, which would explain the overdrive light and lack of a/c, and if so it wouldn't surprise me if the owner also lied about it being an SE when it is probably a base model (hence no power locks/windows). If you really want to be sure run a background check using vin either at DOT or carfax. As for a/c it was probably cut when the engine was swapped and you can check by looking for the compressor or the hose near the firewall (where it is usually chopped when an engine is removed). Hope this helps. Sorry if you did get cheated.

·
Registered
44 Posts