Nissan Forum banner

1 - 17 of 17 Posts

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
So I bought an 01 frontier SE king can desert runner. Great truck. Service engine light came on and most of the time it stays on. I wasn't aware it substituted the check engine light. It suddenly started kinda stuttering while I'm driving. It does it more when I get closer to 50mph and worse when faster. Rpms are fluttering more and it sometimes bottoms out but doesn't die. Read the code at O'Reilly's and it says thermostat. I'm no mechanic but I'm not sure the thermostat will make it do this. It seems more like bad gas or misfires. Can someone help please?

·
Nissan Enthusiast
3,048 Posts

Not sure why you are so focused on the thermostat. Its a possibility but there are other potential causes, and having personally experienced throttle body issues on my 2006, I am open to the idea that your problem may be with it.

·
Registered
10 Posts
Discussion Starter #4
The truck finally quit on me. It'll crank up no problem but the RPM bottoms constantly and it does. Especially when I try to drive it. WILL NOT GO ANYWHERE. So did some research and found kinda what u said that it was throttle body related. Does thisean I need to replace the throttle body?

·
NF Mod/Nissan Master Tech
9,504 Posts