Nissan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 26 Posts

·
Registered
23 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First, i'm not one who toys with engines much, change my own oil, replace spark plugs, simple things like that. When I finally accepted the fact that my headgasket needed replacing I just couldn't pay someone $800-$1100 to replace a $20 headgasket. After discussing it with a mechanically-inclined friend I decided to attempt it. He told me to get a Haynes or Chilton's manual. I decided on a Haynes manual and downloaded the FSM for the 1.8L engine. I thought i'd post some details to maybe help out someone else who's gonna replace their own headgasket. As stated earlier, i'm not a mechanic so those of you with experience please take it easy on me if I don't describe something correctly. This is for inexperienced folks like me. This is random thoughts guys so please bear with me, it's important that I get as much info out as I can remember!

Q. How did I decide the headgasket was the problem?
A. For the past couple of months I had to keep adding fluid to the radiator reservoir, I wasn't sure where it was going but it always needeed more. I had no antifreeze in my oil, my oil was clean.
My car was getting hard to start (compression). Sometimes it would take four or five times before it finally started.
Couldn't keep air out of my heater core. One heater hose hot, one cold, kept bleeding the system but it would come back in three days.
P0303 cylinder #3 misfire, replaced spark plug, swapped ignition coil but it stayed in cylinder number three.
After reading the forums all these problems led to one answer, the headgasket!

Things I should've done before disassembling the engine,
1. I should've gotten the headgasket before I began, after I got it taken apart I couldn't find a headgasket anywhere! I figured every parts store would have some on hand. I was delayed two days waiting on the UPS truck.
2. I should've verified exactly which torque wrenches I would need, I ended up buying one.