Nissan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 22 Posts

·
Registered
4 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
:thumbdwn: Newbie here. Used the forum when I was researching my x-trail and decided to risk a September 05 2.2 DCI. 21000 miles, lovely condition, dealer serviced. Engine bay like new. Bought it off an Internet dealer but had a garage check it over before I paid for it.

That was 10 days ago. Loved the car, powerful, big, fun to drive. And now the intercooler is leaking. 350 miles after I bought it. SO questions are

a) Is it worth badgering Nissan to see if they'll help pay for fixing it?
b) I have a warranty but it's only £300 per repair, any idea how much this is going to cost
c) Should I have another beer?

I am insanely p!ssed off because I read all these issues and yet still bought one. And now I'm going to worry it'll just break again. :mad:

·
Registered
25 Posts
I too am in the UK, can't help with your problem though - Sorry.
I find it hard to beleive there are so many problems with the intercoolers and turbos!!
Good luck

·
Registered
471 Posts
as yu are in the Uk, Sale of goods Act applies - must be of merchantable quality.....

have a word with trading standards and CAB. I think you have a good case for saying that it must have been like that when you bought it - so they are responsible for fixing it or giving you your money back.

The Sale of Goods Act 979, amended in 1994, say that when you buy goods from a trader they must fit the description, be of satisfactory quality - which includes lasting a reasonable length of time - and be fit for their purpose. If goods aren't of satisfactory quality you're entitled to compensation, which is normally the cost of repairs.

this might apply if it was an internet purchase.....

Consumer Rights • cooling off period • distance selling • mail order • retailers legal obligations • right to cancel