Nissan Forum banner
1 - 20 of 24 Posts

·
im2kwik4u
188 Posts
Discussion Starter · #1 ·
i have some problems putting the car into first gear sometimes whenever im at a stop sign or red light, sometimes i have to put in second and then into 1st for it to go in properly. Sometimes it goes in just fine and sometimes it doesnt. I replaced my clutch for a new OEM one about 1 year ago because my fork lever broke. Any of u know wat might be causing the problem??
thanks

·
Registered
203 Posts
Have you tried adjusting your clutch cable? Or checking the fluid level in the tranny. I would start there before thinking that the clutch or tranny is going bad. Hopefully that's all it is. If not, then I don't know. I'm not that good with transmissions. Just a suggestion. Good luck with it.

·
Boxed Fox
1,313 Posts
im2kwik4u said:
i have some problems putting the car into first gear sometimes whenever im at a stop sign or red light, sometimes i have to put in second and then into 1st for it to go in properly. Sometimes it goes in just fine and sometimes it doesnt. I replaced my clutch for a new OEM one about 1 year ago because my fork lever broke. Any of u know wat might be causing the problem??
thanks
Does that problem go away if you blip your throttle before putting it into 1st (rev about 500rpm with the clutch disengaged, then put the shift lever into the 1st gear gate)?

·
absolutely classic
455 Posts
im2kwik4u said:
thanks
What fluid did you put in? I just learned this the hard way, but luckily caught it in time. The shop that did my clutch must have put the wrong type of fluid in since the car shifted rough... meaning it was difficult to get into gear. I replaced the fluid and it shifts like it should now. Make sure you use the right weight and GL-4 fluid.

·
Registered
272 Posts