Nissan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 73 Posts

·
Registered
26 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hi my name's Jon. This thread is to inform anyone who wants to know where things break on a GA16DE turbo. Iv'e been off of the forums for a number of years now, but today decided I would start writing again. The forum i used to post on is now gone, so i joined this one.

I have a 1999 sentra i have been working on for four years now. I recently did the final turbo set-up and I have learned where a lot of things fail. When i had the T28 on, after one year, the stock head gasket failed at 13-15 lbs of boost. fairly reliable but still not satisfactory.

I now have a GT3076R on after rebuilding the engine with many internal upgrades, i will list at the bottom. With this turbo, the stock head gasket failed immediately upon hitting 20lbs of boost with no hesitation. After some top secret coating it held at 15 lbs, but the pistons evidently are unable to handle this amount of boost and stress fractured between the ring grooves. Granted these are 91-94 pistons, the 95-99 pistons may be slightly different. due to their larger gap between the oil and compression ring grooves, this may give them slightly more strength.

Everyone knows that next to the head gasket, the rods are the first items to fail, so i would definately not push them beyond 12 lbs on a GT30R, or 20lbs on anything else, i know some have, but i would not recommend it at all.

So far this is all I have broken, but since i really dont care what i break, I'm sure i will be posting further details on other engine components in the near future. When i get to where the crank breaks, someone take me to the luny bin. HAHA if your wondering where something breaks just let me know and ill be happy to blow it up for you.

Anywya since i know your all wondering heres the list of upgrades:
TSI cast iron T25 flange manifold
GT3076R t25 flange and standard 5 bolt outlet
Blox manual boost controler (dont trust electronic)