Nissan Forum banner

1 - 20 of 36 Posts

·
Registered
78 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
First off, hello, this is my first post. I am a member of quite a few different UBB's so I will make some assumptions about how stuff is run here, however feel free to smack me upside the head if I do something dumb.

Yesterday I bought a 1995 Nissan 200SX off a neighbor for $350. It was not running, but I have been working on cars for over 10 years now, so not much phases me. No flaming intended, but most of my experience is in Domestic cars, with the exception of my Honda Del Sol that was stolen a few days ago. The 200SX is my replacement vehicle.

Aside from that -- here's where I'm at. The car has the 1.6, Auto. The car has about 250,000 miles and the previous owner was only so-so with maintenance.

The car won't start, but here's the steps I have taken so far:
1. New battery -- the old one was dead. I cleaned off the terminals as well.
2. I put drygas in the tank because the car has been sitting with 1/8 of a tank for about 3 months.
3. The car had new spark plugs, I pulled all of them, blew them dry (They were wet from gas from trying to start it) and I verified the gap was 0.044.
4. I can hear the fuel pump kick in, and then kick off after the relay cuts out.
5. All fuses, fusable links, and relays are good.
6. Scanned the computer, got code 21.
7. Replaced the distributor, rotor, and cap.
8. Still no go, pulled each spark plug, grounded it, and had my fiancee start it while I watched for sparks. All of them fired.
9. I replaced a very dirty air filter.
10. Still got error 21. I then cleared the codes. Tried to start, but again, no start.
11. I removed the crank position sensor and got 12v on the connector and 180ohms resistence, which is spec according to the FSM
12. The crank sensor was a little loose so I tightened it more when I replaced it.