Nissan Forum banner

1 - 12 of 12 Posts

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #1
Hey everyone, I was planning on doing a SR20DET swap into my 1.6 but after finding out how much works invoved since I dont have a SE-R I cant do it now. So im thinkin about keeping the 1.6 and hooking that but. Im not an expert in motor components but I was thinkin if I would be able to get a spare OEM head for the 1.6 and do what ever I could and swap them out. Not sure what all I can do whats safe to do so give me your feedback. Mainly I got this idea because my 200 is my daily driver and its difficult to have it not running longer then a weekend so I thought maybe this would work, I could build the spare head and put in on in a weekend? let me know, thanks

·
Registered
66 Posts
Discussion Starter #3
I heard about that on hondas but I dont know of anyone that done it with the Ga motor I thought it was be better to keep it OEM head and jus build it up and swap over ....

·
Apprentice Technician
784 Posts
i wouldn't be swapping heads.

go to a junk yard and yank out a ga16de head and intake manifold, and buy that hotshot header. get a machine shop to clean them up and put in stronger, new valve springs, new valves and guides in the head, get the intake and exhaust ports port matched and polished, and same to the intake and header.

if you want to go higher compression, order some wiseco pistons and con-rods.

if you want to go turbo, buy the ga16de turbo kit from turbo specialties, and at a modest 6psi, its still a reliable daily driver, with more power. if you go turbo, dont buy the hot shot header. get the turbo manifold port matched.

·
Registered
39 Posts
hmm... nice idea
i`m using a ga16ds, i plan to fuel injected this ds by swapping ga15de injection system and the head too, will this possible and reliable?

·
Apprentice Technician
784 Posts
hmm... nice idea